A song for you.

2 Feb

I was just in the car and the song that inspired my post title the other day came on on my iPod.  As I sang along, I realized I needed to share it with you here in case you hadn’t heard it before.

I love The Bens.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  I used to love Ben Folds until he was an ass to my friend’s band back in 2002, then I had to stop liking him.  (Although have you ever heard that song Gracie?  Oh my.  If that song doesn’t make your ovaries quiver, you’re a cold and heartless woman and I want nothing to do with you.*)  Ben Kweller, however, has been on constant rotation on my stereo computer iPod for over 10 years now (check out his Changing Horses album – listen to Sawdust Man and Gypsy Rose – it’s one of the best albums of 2009…and of course, there’s Sha Sha which is classic Ben Kweller), and Ben Lee is just the cutest.  He can sing to me in that accent any day (although, I do have to admit his albums are kind of disappointing….I think they’re just a little too pop-y sweet for me).

Anyway.  Here it is.  The soundtrack to your pretending.

* This, of  course, is aimed more towards those of us not in the hell that is RPL and Infertility, because obviously everything under the moon makes our ovaries quiver.  But also, should you be in a dark and twisty place at the moment, consider this a warning — DO NOT go looking for that song, or you may never come out of the blackness.

4 Responses to “A song for you.”

  1. Cablearms February 2, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    you and i – we were destined to be friends… i love The Bens.

    there’s a name that plays in my head like a song
    all day long she’s with me everyday
    after all, in the end
    just pretend…

    xo

  2. missohkay February 2, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    I love Ben Folds even though his fans were once really rude to me before I was a fan of his and I was at a concert to hear Rufus Wainwright opening and they mocked me. I also like Ben Kweller. I don’t know Ben Lee. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Rachel @ Eggs In A Row February 3, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    Ben Lee…swoon. I have like 4 of his CDs. Love him!

  4. slcurwin February 6, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    Thanks for the song. I love getting recommentdations from others.

Leave a Reply

