11.11.11

11 Nov

[ via flickr ]

I just erased a long emotional tirade about how I wish I had more passion for protesting the war and how the numerous battles have effected me and my family personally; but after last night’s post, it just felt like too much.  All I really wanted to say is that today I’m thinking about my grandfathers who are still with us and my uncle who is no longer, S’s step-father and her sweet friend from college that lost his life in the war, and all the men and women who have served our country.  Just saying thank you doesn’t seem like enough.

(Also, I can’t help but put this in because it hits close to home — did you know that during the past two years, the US military has lost more men and women to suicide than it has to combat in Iraq and Afghanistan?  Devastating.  This war needs to end.  Yesterday.  A decade ago.)

 

3 Responses to “11.11.11”

  1. Mo November 11, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Hear hear!

  2. Hope November 11, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    No, I didn’t know the stat about the suicides. That makes me really sad. You’re right that the war needs to end.

  3. Port of Indecision November 12, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    That is really awful. I read that about the suicides too. Honestly, I can’t say it surprises me at all, given the length and frequency of deployments over the past few years, which have been much greater than in years past. It’s terribly sad.

Leave a Reply

