Not-Penny’s Baby Shower

24 Oct

When I first came across Runny Yolk, I had just had my 3rd miscarriage and I was finally reaching out to the blogging community to find others that had experienced similar loss and frustrations.  After just one read, she made it onto my reader.

I soon discovered she wasn’t just someone who had experienced pain, her voice was unlike any other I had read.  It wasn’t what she was writing – since she was talking about the same thing we were all talking about – but it was how  she said it that hit me.  Her words were raw and honest, evoking emotion that inspired readers in this community to want to come together and fight this as one.  She never apologized for her emotions, and as a result, gave me a confidence to do the same.

When I found out I was pregnant for the 4th time, Elphaba was the first person in the community I told.  She had just found out she was pregnant 7 weeks prior, so I knew she would be able to help me navigate the first few scary weeks.  If it weren’t for her, they would have been nearly impossible to make it through.  When I found out the baby had no heartbeat, she was there for me without hesitation.  Throughout the next few weeks, she and a few other incredible women in this community, came together to show me love that I didn’t know could exist with this kind of grief.  During this entire 2-year battle, it was in these moments I finally felt the support I so badly needed all the other times.

So to sum it all up: this girl pretty much rocks.  I’m so thankful she’s in my life and I can call her my friend.  And even though she’s about to give birth, the voice that originally spoke to me never once got buried in the midst of the pregnancy glow, and she still continues to inspire.

And now onto the present and the only baby shower I’ve looked forward to since all this mess began!

I originally thought of the idea when looking at the pictures of her nursery and I was inspired by the colors she chose.  Also, I noticed her walls are suspiciously bare.  Since I can’t seem to buy people presents when I can make them one instead, I immediately knew what I was going to design.

For your wall, Little Elphie:


Once the little one is born, I will obviously replace “Not Penny” with Little Elphie’s real name, as well as her actual birth time, weight, city and province (except, Elphaba, I think I should win a prize if this really is her weight!).  It will arrive to your door in an 8 x 10 frame and will be packed with love.  And of course, it is open to changes if you would like them, Elphaba.

Congratulations, Elphaba…I couldn’t be happier for you and Mr. M.  Thanks for being not only such a strong voice in this community, but for being an incredible friend through all of this.  I can’t wait for the day I get to give you a real-life hug.

To read more of the lovely ladies partaking in this virtual baby shower for Miss Elphaba, please head over to Mommy Odyssey’s blog.  And thank you, Mo, for organizing this.  We’re I’m not worthy!  We’re I’m not worthy!

To read Elphaba’s response to the shower, click here.

12 Responses to “Not-Penny’s Baby Shower”

  1. Rachel @ Eggs In A Row October 24, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    You are SO TALENTED ZOMG. I want you to do my nursery. Someday. BEAUTIFUL.

  2. Nat October 24, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Rach – I couldn’t agree more. I absolutely love it too!

  3. jjiraffe October 24, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    That is such a beautiful picture!!! You are crazy talented. And this is a beautiful post 🙂

  4. Suzy @No Suzy Homemaker October 24, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    Beautiful! Aaaand now I have to add another blog to my reader…thanks 😉

    • bodegabliss October 25, 2011 at 8:56 am #

      Thanks, Suzy! I know how it feels to just keep adding up the blogs in your reader. Thanks for subscribing! I’ll try to make it worth it. 😉

  5. Eggceptionally Blue October 24, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    It’s beautiful, and so thoughtful. And I am particularly excited to have found your blog because we live in the same county!! I live in the town of Sonoma. Happy to connect with a local!

  6. Elphaba October 25, 2011 at 5:11 am #

    So excited for this! And I needed to add that I appreciate the inclusion of “province” rather than “state” 😉

    • bodegabliss October 25, 2011 at 8:44 am #

      You can thank my best friend that I grew up with and her parents, who are very much still Canadian even though they moved from there 20 years ago! At one point in time, I even memorized the capital cities of each province. (I like to pretend I’m Canadian, in other words).

  7. bodegabliss October 25, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Thanks everyone, you sure know how to make a girl blush! It’s nerve-wracking putting my art out there for all to see. It’s a new experience for me! I’m so glad you all like it.

  8. endoandbeyond October 26, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Gorgeous design

    and
    hooray for Canadians 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not-Penny’s Baby Shower « Mommy Odyssey - October 24, 2011

    […] Bodega Bliss’ Baby Shower Post GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "d7bced"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "7a7a7a"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "3b0466"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "585858"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "family"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "baby-shower"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:FacebookDiggEmailStumbleUponRedditTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. Elphaba province | Cartographix - April 1, 2012

    […] Not-Penny’s Baby Shower « Bodega BlissIn the novel, Nessarose and Elphaba have a younger brother named Shell. … a province of Oz, albeit a different one than Madame Morrible had suggested. […]

Leave a Reply

