Another installment of “My life according to my phone.”

14 Oct

Last week my parents came to visit and we had such a great time. My folks are very laid back and low maintenance, so their visits are always welcome. I got to play tourist in my town and travel up to Mendocino for the first time, down to Alacatraz, and of course, there was the requisite wine tasting with my mom.

I took some pretty fun photos while they were here as well as some the week before for my birthday; so in light of the sadness I’ve felt the last few days for my friend and some tough changes at work, I’m going to post them here for a little momentary distraction. I hope you enjoy them as well. Happy Friday, everyone!

birthday dinner

At home after my birthday dinner and feeling blissful.

happy birthday

jewelry

This was my birthday gift from Tim and perhaps the best birthday present I have ever received.  I’ve been needing a solution for my jewelry as it was clumped all in bowls; I came home from North Carolina to this.  I was floored.  He and K had worked all weekend on it.  They made it out of salvaged windows and found small prints I had been saving and glued them to the backs of the glass that remained, then glued small wood slats and hung copper nails. 

I love it times a thousand. 

cake

So what if I baked my own birthday cake?  The pumpkiny-browned-buttercream-topped-with-caramel-walnut-goodness wasn’t going to bake itself. 

rock mushrooms

This is a little mushroom forest made out of rocks in the middle of Yountville.  Wouldn’t these look great in a garden?

mirrorsMy mom and I.  Isn’t she the cutest?  And that’s just her natural pink aura, not a fancy trick mirror in Yountville.

bird

bay

A storm in the bay – as seen from Alcatraz.

alcatraz

The Warden’s home – Alcatraz.

sf

Miniature San Francisco.

And then there’s this….

(It’s not pretty, but I have to show someone besides Tim)

ugly

Have you ever seen a bruise quite like that?  And in that location?!  I mean, this picture doesn’t do it justice because it’s BRIGHT baby-blue – pretty much the color of my shirt, only brighter.  It’s really hot.  But don’t you worry, you can have one, too!  Just squeeze your arm in between a gate and a fence, and it can be yours!  (Remember when I did that, mom and dad?  THIS was the result!)

And that concludes this installment of needing-to-clear-some-photos-off-my-phone.

Hope you all have a great weekend!  Just remember to keep your arm clear of wooden gates…

20 Responses to “Another installment of “My life according to my phone.””

  1. Rachel @ Eggs In A Row October 14, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    I love the present he made you!

    Also…you are beautiful.

  2. Hope October 14, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Beautiful photos. I love that jewelery organizer!

    And I’m sorry to be late in saying this, but please pass on my heartfelt sympathy to your friend. No mother should have to face that type of choice. (((Hugs))) to both of you.

    • bodegabliss October 14, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      Thank you, Hope.. I will be sure to tell my friend. All of this support means so much.

  3. Mo October 14, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Ouch! That bruise looks like no fun!
    But that seriously is the best. present. ever!
    Ps – will you bake my birthday cake next year? 😛

    • bodegabliss October 14, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

      you mean OUR birthday cake?! 😉 yes, please!

  4. Elphaba October 14, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    I always think your life looks like the inside of an Anthropologie catalogue. Elegant and sophisticated yet effortlessly casual and always with a vintage feel.

    • bodegabliss October 14, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

      Wow, thank you, lady! I love Anthropologie, so that’s a pretty amazing compliment. Good thing I haven’t actually bought everything from there to achieve it, or I’d be flat broke. 🙂

      • Elphaba October 15, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

        Okay good–I meant it as a compliment. I am obsessed with Anthropologie. But yes, it leaves me poor 🙂

    • jjiraffe October 14, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

      Her life is TOTALLY like an Anthropologie catalogue!! If one of the models could bake the best apple caramel cinnamon cupcakes ever. They haunt my dreams.

      • bodegabliss October 17, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

        Aw shucks, guys! 🙂

  5. jjiraffe October 14, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    The gift is so beautiful. LOVE.

    As are you! Those photos of you are drop-dead, as is that cake. It would be a welcome member to our sleepover tomorrow 😉 Just sayin’

  6. cablearms October 15, 2011 at 3:38 am #

    honey – i figured out who you totally remind me of: Josie Bissett!!! you know, that blonde beauty from Melrose Place… total doppelganger!

    also you need to get yourself a proper camera, not even a huge monster dslr like the one i lug around, even a small point and shoot – you’re taking great photos! i want to plan a trip to NoCal and we can meet up, hug, compare our empty uterii, drink and do a photowalk! wouldn’t that be awesome?

    and ps – that bruise is NASTY.

    • bodegabliss October 17, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

      I’ve been feeling the pull for a while now to get a proper camera. Then will you please come visit and show me how to use the thing? And then, of course! compare our empty uterii and drink.

      So yes, that would be decidedly SUPER AWESOME.

      Make it happen!

  7. Kristen October 16, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Love, love, love these pictures! You’re making me so homesick for CA! Your jewelry organizer is the coolest thing ever! The cake looks delicious and your mom is soooo adorable!
    Sorry some tough stuff is going on at work. And cannot get your friend off my mind. Hugs to you…
    XOXO

    • bodegabliss October 17, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

      Thanks, Kristen. You’re so sweet…I can’t stop thinking about my friend, either.

      Sorry I’m making you homesick! 😦

      xoxo

  8. starfishkittydreams October 16, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Ouch! That bruise looks really painful! So sorry about the experience that left that as a reminder.

    Your photos are SO fun! You really know how to use all the fun photo filters. You are inspiring me to come up and be a tourist in the Mendocino area. Let me know if you are ever looking for a visitor!

    • bodegabliss October 17, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

      You should totally come up! Except Mendocino is a good 2 hours away…but Sonoma County is just as beautiful!

  9. embracingtherain October 20, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Happy belated birthday! Ouch, that bruise looks like it is a painful one. Also, my thoughts and prayers go out to your friend.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Time Warp Tuesdays: Blogging Besties « Stumbling Gracefully - November 9, 2011

    […] thought she was lovely, kind, gracious, open, funny and that exuded a style I coveted completely (her hair is basically exactly what I wish my hair could be, but it can’t, believe me, I’ve paid […]

Leave a Reply

