An update and some gratitude.

13 Oct

Thank you so much to everyone who sent prayers and good thoughts to my friend last week.  She ended up finding out that her baby boy tested positive for encephaloceles and she had to make the horrible decision to terminate the pregnancy.  She had the d&c yesterday afternoon.

My heart has been hurting and my mind solely focused on her since she found out.  I heard from her today and she said she’s come to peace with the decision and knew it was the right thing to do.  She even felt a strong presence of her baby boy after the surgery letting her know he was okay and that he loved them very much.  When I heard that, I cried…both in relief and in grief.  It’s just not fair he was taken away too soon…that any of our babies were taken away like they were.

I know she’ll still experience many emotions in the coming weeks and months, but I do know that your words of support helped make a difference.  I am, once again, blown away by the women in this community.  When I first heard the news from my friend, I knew instantly I wanted her to feel the support you have so selflessly given to me these last couple of years.  And that was exactly what you did.  I wish there was a way for me to express how lucky I feel, but something tells me I don’t have to…I think you all know exactly how I feel because you feel it, too.  I’m going to see her in a couple of weeks, and when I wrap my arms around her, I’ll make sure she knows it’s coming from all of you as well.

8 Responses to “An update and some gratitude.”

  1. Esperanza October 13, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    I’m so sorry for your friend’s loss. I really have no words. Please let her know that she is in my heart and in my thoughts.

  2. Jjiraffe October 13, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    Oh, I am so sorry to hear about your friend. She has been in my thoughts all week. I am so sorry that she has become a member of this difficult club. Please give her all my best when you see her and I’m happy she has a friend like you to console her. Xoxo

  3. cablearms October 14, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    this was a community I hadn’t planned on joining; but when i sought it – it welcomed me with open arms with no judgment, thanks to you leading the way. let your dear friend know that we are sending her love and light and that she is safe with us, should she choose to be part of this wonderful tribe of women.
    you are an awesome friend, Courtney. you’ve got such a great heart. xo

  4. Elphaba October 14, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    Darn, not the news I was hoping to hear. Your poor friend. I’m glad to hear she has found peace with the decision–that takes a lot of strength and courage. Hugs to you both.

  5. Kristen October 14, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    So, so sorry for what your friend is going through….my heart is breaking for her. I can’t even imagine…
    Keeping you and her in my thoughts and prayers. I’m glad you’re getting to see her…I’m sure that will help her a lot. We’ve got to be there for each other when the unthinkable happens, you know?
    XOXO

  6. Rachel @ Eggs In A Row October 14, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    It’s just so unfair. I can’t see why these things have to happen…at all. Please let her know that I so her decision, and I hope she finds some healing soon…much love!

  7. Mo October 14, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    You are an amazing friend. I hope our comments will help ease some of her pain. xoxo

  8. Port of Indecision October 14, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Your friend is so lucky to have you. This community is such an awesome support system, and I find that it helps me be a better support to people in real life too when friends and loved ones have fertility issues and miscarriages.

Leave a Reply

