September.

31 Aug

september

I look forward to September all year. Not only is it my birthday month, it’s the month where I eagerly hit the newsstand or peek into my mailbox for the September issues of my favorite magazines. I pile them up, grab a coffee and blanket and settle in. I have a somewhat embarrassing love for magazines…and as a result, September is like Christmas to me.

It’s the little things.

That concludes the August Break!  It was quite a nice distraction for me and I think I’ll try to include more pictures in my daily posts.  Thanks for so many positive comments on my photos, I’m glad so many of you enjoyed it as well!

Also, there will be a proper thanks in a post coming up, but I want to say now before it goes any longer that I am so appreciative of all of your comments on my post last week.  It was a tough week for me, but reading all of your support helped me tremendously, so thank you so much.  

p.s.  Speaking of Beyonce (above)…I’m trying really hard not to be mad at her because I really like her.  I’m happy her and Jay-Z are going to have a baby and be parents and blah blah blah, but I was so mad at her when she flipped open her jacket on the VMA’s and rubbed her belly in a circle a gazillion and one times.  One would’ve been enough, B!  I don’t know why it bothered me so much, it really doesn’t bother me to see women do that, but something about that being her announcement to the world about her pregnancy bugged me.  I think it was her innocence behind it.  She has no idea what it’s like to be on this side of things, so I was – of course – envious of the utter joy in her smile and so incredibly angry that I never get to feel that.  Yet, she has every right to feel that way and rub her belly as many times as she wants, and I’m so glad she doesn’t need to know what this pain feels like.  So I guess it’s all my issue!  Go figure.  

So anyway.  Yeah.  Beyonce.  

15 Responses to “September.”

  1. Mo August 31, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    I tweeted the other day that I am in full denial, and in fact the real preggo is Beyonce’ the Giant Metal Chicken.
    http://thebloggess.com/2011/06/and-thats-why-you-should-learn-to-pick-your-battles/

    (and I have read about her whole jacket bit and have avoided VMA clips like the plague ever since. ick.)

    • bodegabliss August 31, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      That was THE FUNNIEST thing I have read in a long time. HAHAHAHA. awesome. and I so want that chicken.

      And I had heard she tore open her jacket and that was all I had heard. So my dumbass watched her whole performance WAITING for the moment she revealed her belly. Apparently I’m more of a masochist than you are! But really, she has every right to act like that…it’s just me and my dumb jealousy that makes it an issue. Sigh.

      • eggsinarow August 31, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

        And that is how “Big Metal Chicken Beyonce Buddies” was born.

      • cablearms August 31, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

        Mo – that was awesome in so many levels!!! I so needed that laugh… I read Blogess but not all the time, I don’t know how I missed that one! Thanks for the link!

  2. eggsinarow August 31, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    See, and I’ll take it a step further…I thought she was pregnant a year ago, so I thought to myself, “She had a miscarriage and has the balls to go out and act like that?”

    It’s nice that she’s pregnant, but it’s so strange that the media is acting like she is doing something out of the ordinary. I mean, out of the ordinary for fertile people. I did almost smack her for the “I told y’all I was going to get pregnant when I was 30” comment.

    • bodegabliss September 1, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      I was so mad when I heard that! I thought to myself, “Oh, um, yeah BECAUSE IT’S THAT EASY FOR EVERYONE YOU BIG JERK.”

  3. cablearms August 31, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    it’s not just your issue, dollface. I was so annoyed by the “let’s make the whole show about ME” attitude. must you announce your pregnancy like the whole world needs to know that you’re such a freaking narcissist? be happy, sure why not. but it’s a little hypocritical when she’s all “i need to keep my private life to myself” and then go all nuts with this gongshow and then complain about the hounding of the media? puh-lease plus! i know i sound bitter… but maybe because i am.

    “knock knock motherfucker!”

  4. Marie August 31, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    I’m confused. Why are September magazines better than other months? I love magazines too, and feel like I am missing something here…

    • eggsinarow September 1, 2011 at 11:20 am #

      September is the back to school month. And for some reason, the issues are bigger and more fabulous. Even though some of us haven’t been back to school in quite awhile. 😉

      • bodegabliss September 1, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

        I think it’s just the fashion ones, though. I don’t think Popular Mechanics gets any bigger during this month. hehe.

  5. Port of Indecision September 1, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Wait, is there something special about the September issue of magazines that I need to be aware of?

    • bodegabliss September 1, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

      It’s the month the fashion magazines all have their biggest issues….but why it’s this month, I have no idea. Especially because in the fashion world, they’re always so much ahead of the real world (like, I’m pretty sure they’ve already had a Spring 2012 fashion show and it’s not even Fall 2011). So all I know is that in September, they’re gloriously full of beautiful, beautiful clothes. Why, I can’t answer. 🙂

  6. Kristen September 1, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    I love magazines too! And this time of year is the best! Loving Kate Moss in Vogue…

    • bodegabliss September 1, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      I sadly haven’t made it through Vogue yet, I was saving that for last. 🙂

  7. Kristen September 3, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Thanks for your comments on my blog about the dream I had about my brother. Your take on it made me SO HAPPY! 🙂
    XO

Leave a Reply

