Really?

12 Aug

Tonight we went to a small restaurant that a friend of ours owns and noticed right away that there are three very pregnant women in the tiny tiny space.  I’m standing by the counter reading the menu and up walks a woman who leans in to say to me: “You better watch out or you might get pregnant if you stay here, everyone in here is pregnant!”

I don’t even think I could fake my shock that out of everyone in there, I’m the one she says that to.  If only she knew who she had just said that to!  I couldn’t even muster up a laugh, I think I may have just stared at her.

Tim came up to me after and I told him what had happened and he asked how things like that always seem to happen to me.  I wish I knew.  If I did, I’d avoid them.  After the shock wore off, I couldn’t stop laughing.  I mean, really?  REALLY?  Ridiculous.

10 Responses to “Really?”

  1. Mo August 13, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    You can’t help but laugh at these things, right? Urgh.

  2. slcurwin August 13, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    It along the same lines as my co-worker asking why I don’t have more kids. When I said it’s not always that easy she looks at me and says “yes it is, you have sex, you get pregnant”. I almost added “you put your two cents in where it’s not welcome and dont get the hints, I punch you in the nose”.

    Why do these people find us? Mo’s right, if we don’t laugh it off, we’ll cry.

    • bodegabliss August 13, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      I can’t believe someone actually said that!

  3. eggsinarow August 13, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    I love those moments! Seriously. It’s like when my sis and SIL both announced their pregnancies on FB and my (idiot) aunt wrote “Eggsinarow should get pregnant too! How cute would that be?” It would be sooooo cute. LOL.

    You are a nicer person than me, because I would of said something like, “I hope I do, it would save me a cool $30K in the long run” or something equally as upsetting to the woman.

    PS. slcurwin: that’s what you do? You just have sex? I’m so confused! LOL.

    • slcurwin August 13, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

      Ya, we’ve been doing it wrong all this time. Who’da thunk?

  4. AnnaEsperanza August 13, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Wow. It is amazing how people find just exactly the wrong thing to say.

    I tend to just stare too (while Seth Meyers’ voice in my head goes “Really? REALLY?”). Or I force out a big (probably obviously fake) laugh.

    Until someone creates a stupid-comment force field, I’m not sure what else we can do.

    • bodegabliss August 13, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      I know! But the thing that makes it laughable in this instance is that if she had said to anyone else, it probably would have been funny. She just had no idea what it meant to have said it to me. I am seriously a magnet.

  5. Marie August 15, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    I think you should have told her EVERYTHING and made her really uncomfortable. Just sayin.

  6. myjourney7283 August 16, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    Thanks for the giggles this morning. I can’t quit replaying “Really?!?” from Seth Meyers & SNL in my head.

    This is like that new-car syndrome — you know, when you buy a new car you see that EXACT car EVERYWHERE. So, in my mind, when TTC (especially for awhile, and when dealing with IF) you see pregnant women (especially VERY pregnant women) EVERYWHERE.

    It is the cruel joke the universe likes to play on us … I wish it would stop.

Leave a Reply

