My June and July according to my phone.

25 Jul

I was going through my photos on my phone recently and realized I have so many on there just being ignored that I thought I’d have a little show and tell session today for a change of pace. It’s also my way of gearing up to do the August Break, an idea that I stole from Cable Arms (who just had a miscarriage a few weeks ago and deserves as much love as she can get).  Although, you may be wondering what it is I really need a break from since I barely post any way.  To that I answer: I don’t need a break, but I need a fun project!  So I’ll be partaking in this little photo-taking exercise for the entire month of August, during which I’ll still post my not-so-regular posts.  Woohoo!  So onto the neglected photos from my phone…

courtney

I took this the day I found out we lost the baby.  I was holed up in a hotel room while Tim was out doing inspections.  Took was not all that pleased with being in a hotel, but I needed him with me.  He survived.

courtney

This was taken in Maine when I was visiting my best friend and home town during my recovery from the D&C.  I love Lupines so much.  They were a little glimmer of happiness in between the dreary fog of the coast (and my head).

courtney

This was my view for 4 days from my best friend’s cottage. And that’s me in the water trying to cure my poison oak. Can you see me in there?

courtney

courtney

These are downtown Providence. Oh how I love this city. I had to leave it because I was miserable there (which I’m beginning to realize had nothing to do with where I was, and everything to do with my head), but I miss it so much. I spent an afternoon by myself walking around downtown and it was so wonderful (despite how awful the weather looks, it was actually quite warm). Someday, I’ll be back there.

courtney

On the bus to the Boston airport and my last chance to get Dunkin’ Donuts. Mmmmmm….Dunkin’ Donuts coffee.

courtney

courtney

Some more Took photos. He’s my favorite subject because he’s just so damn handsome. The second is at Tim’s mom’s house in Southern California. He had it rough.

courtney

This was my first attempt at a tart that I made for this lady and her love. We met while I was down there and it was just so wonderful. The tart was pretty good, too.

courtney

Have I told you about the $100 ice cream maker I got off of Craigs.list for $15? BEST. PURCHASE. EVER. I used to make ice cream for my job back in the day, and this makes it almost as good as that. This is my first attempt at coffee chip, and it was so good.

courtney

Anyone know what these are? Tim planted them in our front yard and we have no idea what they are, but they’re so interesting and beautiful.

And finally….I cut my hair and had it highlighted this past weekend:

courtney

I call it my break-up hair because my babies keep breaking up with me. Why do they have to keep doing that? It’s not very nice.

And that concludes today’s portion of Show and Tell. Thanks for bearing with me while I post a bazillion pictures, but they just give me so much joy, and this here blog could use some of that.

14 Responses to “My June and July according to my phone.”

  1. Tracy July 25, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    You look fabulous with that haircut! Love it 🙂

    • bodegabliss July 26, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

      Thanks, Tracy! I didn’t love it at first, but I think I love it now. It always takes a few days for the shock to wear off.

  2. Esperanza July 25, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Wow, those are gorgeous pictures. What did you take them with? Just your phone? They are so good. Also you are GOR-GEOUS! Seriously. Have I mentioned that? Because you are. 😉

    PS When are going to teach me Photoshop. I’m totally floundering over here.

    • bodegabliss July 26, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      I use an app called Vignette on my Droid phone. So really, I can’t take credit for how well they come out, or how good I look…it’s really just an effect! 😉

      Let’s do it soon! What about Illustrator? I do know quite a bit about Photoshop, but I know much more about Illustrator. That would be fun!

  3. starfishkittydreams July 25, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    I LOVE your photos! I can’t believe you took them all with your phone. What are your secrets for capturing the dramatic lighting? Here are a few of my thoughts about them…
    1. Your dog, Took is SUPER cute and VERY photogenic. The shots of him are so artsy. I’d love to hear your technique! If I had to choose a favorite it would be the first one as he looks SO soft and huggable there (and tired).
    2. You are a girl after my own heart! I too miss Dunkin Donuts. I swear we are in the only part of the country that doesn’t have it. I’ve even seen it in other countries!
    3. Mmm tarts and ice cream. The look both beautiful AND delicious!
    4. Dig the haircut! You are totally rocking the do!

    • bodegabliss July 26, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      Isn’t my dog just the cutest? And seriously, I just don’t understand why there aren’t Dunkin Donuts out here. Is it because Californians are (rightly so) coffee snobs?

  4. eggsinarow July 26, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    You know you are stunning, right?

    • bodegabliss July 26, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      Gah, you guys are good for my ego. 😉

      (I’m blushing. Thank you.)

  5. michelle July 26, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    I’m sorry about your losses. I do love your haircut! 🙂

  6. Kristen July 26, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    The pics are wonderful and I love getting a little glimpse into your life. Love your dog with his paws in the pool. And your haircut looks fabulous! 🙂 (Hope you don’t need any more break-up trips to the stylist, though…)

  7. Julie July 27, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    I love your Providence photos – so moody!

    • bodegabliss July 27, 2011 at 10:02 am #

      Moody seems appropriate for Providence (or perhaps that’s just how I was there!). 🙂

  8. Artistmouse July 27, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    I love everything about this post!

  9. jjiraffe July 29, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    Beautiful photos and OMG: you look even more gorgeous than ever. You are Vera Farmiga’s doppelgänger: http://cdn.1920×1200.net/posts/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/vera_farmiga_1920_1200_sep262010.jpg

Leave a Reply

