The next step.

20 Jul

Tomorrow I’m going to meet with a genetic counselor* as our first step in having to do this with assistance.  It’s been a long time getting to this point, and even though I’m still pissed that my body can’t do what it’s supposed to naturally, I’m looking forward to finding out what our options are.  Although I’ve been in this world for almost two years now, I have no idea where to start.  I guess because up until now, I haven’t had to look further than crossing our fingers and jumping in.  This part of the world is overwhelming.  I just hope I can keep it together enough tomorrow to have a coherent conversation.  Hopefully they’re used to tearful meetings being that this is their specialty.  I don’t know even know what to expect from a genetic counselor, have any of you seen one?  What are they even going to test for?  Mine and the hubby’s chromosomes have already been cleared as compatible, what’s left?

At least it’s a start.  I need to put my big-girl pants on and be okay with where this path is going now.  It’s just that they’re really hard pants to fit into, and they certainly don’t look nearly as comfortable.

* Updated: the genetic counselor is at a Perinatal practice..I guess that is important to know!  Thanks, Eggsinarow.

9 Responses to “The next step.”

  1. eggsinarow July 20, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    So is this for genetic testing, like for diseases that both of you need to be carriers? Or something else? Whatever it is, I hope that the answers are 1) clear-cut, 2) easily found, and 3) easily solved. No more open-ended questions! ❤

    • bodegabliss July 20, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

      It’s genetic counseling at a Perinatal practice. I guess I should have clarified that. I’ll edit it to explain this.

      And thank you! Me too!

      • eggsinarow July 20, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

        Muah!

  2. Mo July 20, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Ok – I have insight into this, because we’re going there too. Shmerson and I have a karyotyping appointment next monday. Basically, they check your chromosomal make up and see if it’s compatible with your partners. I assume that’s what you’re going to talk about tomorrow.
    I’ll tell you what my gene dude told me: there’s is a 90% chance that this will give you no answers.
    However, the fact that you’re taking this step is wonderful. Answers are our friends!

    • bodegabliss July 20, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

      See, this is why I don’t even understand why I’m going here. We’ve already had that test and we’re fine. By the sounds of it, I have to have this appointment before I can meet with one of their doctors. So we’ll see. I was already assuming it would be a waste of time, but was going in hopeful anyway. Oh, and this is where my doctor referred me to, so that’s why I’m going. I left that out of my post, too!

      And yes, it still feels like a step in the right direction, whether or not I get answers tomorrow. Thanks, lady!

  3. Suzy July 21, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    Normally genetic counselling takes note of both of your family histories – for ours we had to draw up a family tree and note any syndromes/cancers/illnesses of each family member. I actually dont see how helpful it was, but it was a step we had to take in the beginning too 🙂

  4. Kristen July 21, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Hope your meeting went well. We tried to have a baby for a while (years) without any sort of medical assistance, and while I found it was scary getting professionals involved, once I took that step I felt so much relief and new hope that all this could actually turn out well in the end (eg, we could go home with a baby).

  5. cablearms July 22, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    how did it go? is the appointment today? i hope there’s good things all around. sending you good vibes…

  6. starfishkittydreams July 22, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    I hope the appointment went well. We also saw genetic counseling after our third loss was tested and came back genetically abnormal with a translocation. We were planning on IVF with PGD at that point. The counselors confirmed that the issue was not likely to happen again and that since we tested normal to continue without IVF. At the time it gave me piece of mind, but given a year later we are still having losses, I don’t know that there advice was all that helpful. If anything it just showed me how limited the available tests are.

Leave a Reply

