Radio silence.

18 Apr

Don’t you hate it when your job gets in the way of your blogging?

I mean, what exactly do they think they’re paying me for, anyway?  I was under the impression it was for expression of my reproductive turmoil on this little blog of mine.  Apparently…that is not the case.  Oops!

Don’t worry, I didn’t get Dooced.  In fact, there’s something very exciting coming my way in the realm of my work-life: in a week today, I’ll be on my way to Brazil.   And I’ll be getting paid for it!

Have I ever mentioned how much I love my job?  I do.  I really really do.  (Even though sometimes it’s hard to concentrate when there are all of you lovely ladies out there waiting to be read and conversed with.)  I guess I haven’t mentioned my job at all on this blog as a result of the above mentioned possible consequence of talking about your work on your blog, but I feel very lucky to work where I do.  It started out as a part-time gig that has since grown into a new title and full-time position complete with promotion.  And now: Brazil!

The downside is that in order to get ready for this trip, I have been so insanely busy these last two weeks that I might actually need a vacation when my trip is over.  I’m hoping this explains my radio silence as of late, and it will continue to explain the silence for the next few weeks as well.  I will have internet connection while I am there, so I’m planning on posting pictures and little blips of my trip, so I won’t disappear completely.  Plus, I like the idea of sharing a little more fun with you all instead of just doom and gloom a lot of the time.  Especially when that fun equals caipirinha, 80 degree weather and monkeys at your doorstep.  That would just be cruel to not take you along with me.

Aren’t I so thoughtful?  I know, it’s okay, you can hate me just a little bit.  I kind of hate me, too.

I will miss Took Tim dearly, and hate that I’m going there without him.  10 days is a long time to be away from home.  I can’t believe I’ve become such a homebody in my older years, but I guess a year and a half of social-dodging will do that to someone.

So I hope you’ll forgive my absence here for a little while.  It’s for a good cause, I promise.

Caipirinha can’t drink itself, after all.

5 Responses to “Radio silence.”

  1. Hope April 18, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Have so much fun in Brazil! 🙂

  2. Jjiraffe April 18, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Please take lots of photos of lovely drinks and scenery. I’ll need it as I will be staying in a Best Western with my in-laws for our “spring break”. How that happened I’m still not sure.

    Seriously, I am so excited for your trip! It’s going to be amazing 🙂

  3. slcurwin April 18, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Well, I’m just seriously jealous here. If I could actually turn green, I’d be well on my way. I hope you have enough fun for all of us.

  4. Esperanza April 18, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    BRAZIL!!! That is AWESOME! I’m so jealous. Please do post little tid bits so that all of us stuck state side can live vicariously through you. I hope it’s a great trip! Happy travels!

  5. starfishkittydreams April 20, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    Please do take us along. I look forward to hearing about your trip!

Leave a Reply

