Growing cysts like a champ since 2010.

12 Apr

Turns out that cyst on my left ovary didn’t go away like I had previously thought.

Instead of going away, it grew to 4.25 cm and is now a hemorrhaging cyst on my left ovary.

So in other words: just another day for Courtney!

The good news is that there is still blood flow to the ovary – which means as of now, there’s no risk of torsion like I feared.  I just have to wait to see what my doctor wants to do, which will be either wait it out or surgery.  I’m fearing it will burst again before we even have a chance to decide.  That wouldn’t be all that bad in and of itself, I know I can handle the torture pain if it does, I’m just worried about excess scarring at this point.  After almost half a dozen of these, my ovary must be looking like a war zone by now.

Then, of course, there was this: as I was giving the technician my history, I mentioned that I’ve already had cysts during both my most recent pregnancies, she said, “Oh, well at least you have 2 cute babies to make up for it!”

Ouch.

I must be used to comments like these at this point because after the initial blow and my honest reveal of the truth, I quickly  transitioned back to talking about my cysts.  It helped that she was really helpful in describing things to me, something I don’t find common among technicians.  I just really wish they would include all of my history on the orders the doctors send in to avoid comments like that.

The best part of the visit was that I saw follicles of varying maturity on my right ovary!  I can’t tell you what a relief this is.  I really thought that my right ovary wasn’t functioning because of Ole’ Lefty stealing the show.  I’m on CD11, so it was perfect timing for follicles and I couldn’t have been happier to see them and know that at least that part of my body is functioning properly.

I’m really glad I went in to get checked out, even though it didn’t necessarily tell me anything I wasn’t already familiar with.  It was just such a different pain than the “normal” cysts pain that I usually experience, so I think I had the right to be weary.  I’m proud of myself for going, I usually wait these things out.  Maybe I’m turning a new proactive leaf.

Oh, and in case you were wondering, my uterus is still the most beautiful uterus in the whole wide world.  And the tech told me I got an A+ in water consumption.

It’s good to know I at least excel in something. I may not be any good at baby-making, but at least I can fill a bladder like nobody’s business.  Go me!

8 Responses to “Growing cysts like a champ since 2010.”

  1. Katie April 12, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    Oh no. I’m so sorry. 😦 I sincerely hope that you don’t need surgery. I had a big fear about ovarian torsion with my last cyst. That scares me so much because I KNOW what has to happen at that point – plus I know it’s painful. I’m glad you don’t have to worry about that. Wishing you lots of luck. Let us know what the doctor says!

  2. Hope April 12, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    I am so sorry you are going through all this. That comment by the tech about the babies–ouch! I agree–they really ought to send over *all* the data.

    I hope that you get a clear plan of action from your doctor, soon.

    And great news that your right ovary is functioning so well! 🙂

  3. slcurwin April 12, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    “but at least I can fill a bladder like nobody’s business” lol, ya, go you! I’m not so bad myself, you should try my method and see how much more you can get in there (aka, just dont pee when you wake up so it’s a slow fill and not nearly as uncomfortable).

    Thats really craptastic about the cyct. I hope it clears up soon. Surgery is never fun.

  4. jjiraffe April 12, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    I’m so sorry you’re dealing with this (and the ultrasound technician’s serious gaffe -ugh). I hope this resolves itself as quickly and painlessly as possibly.

    (((Hugs)))

  5. marriage20 April 15, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I’m so sorry about the technician’s comment. When I had my HSG, the radiologist mentioned that I have a small uterus, and the other doctor in the room asked, “How did you deliver your last pregnancy?” I didn’t even know how to respond. Ouch indeed!

    Still, I’m glad you got checked out and got some good news and are feeling positive about it all. Good luck!

    • bodegabliss April 15, 2011 at 11:58 am #

      Oh my word. That’s awful! I would’ve been so mad! This is why our history should be on every single ultrasound order to prevent comments like that. Geez!

  6. starfishkittydreams April 17, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    I am so glad you are ok now. I was worried for you. And both ovaries are ok. So glad to hear that!

    That technician’s comment was quite a punch. Ouch! Sadly, she probably thought she was saying something nice and had no idea.

  7. Whitney Anderson April 18, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    I HATE it when they don’t read our chart first. We infertiles out to get a pomegranate red star on our charts.

Leave a Reply

