Making Whoopie.

5 Apr

Jjraffe over at  Too Many Fish to Fry started a Cooking with Capote project for the month of April to encourage bloggers to write about food, but specifically: their emotional attachments, stories and family lore around certain culinary traditions. Here’s my first contribution.


There was one positive to the BBQ Inferno and that was my dessert.  I had every intention of making cupcakes until the day before when I realized I wanted to make something a little different, something no one has heard of around these parts and that’s when I decided I’d make…Whoopie Pies!

Image courtesy of abakedcreation*

No, they’re not Moon Pies.  Don’t you even dare try and call them that to my face, and don’t you go try and compare them to Devil Dogs, either.  A Whoopie Pie is neither.  The former are sugary, over-processed, cakey pastries.  Whoopie Pies are traditional, homemade, two not-cakes-and-not-quite-cookies pressed together with creamy vanilla (and sometimes peanut butter).

Growing up in Maine, you’ll find Whoopies Pies every where from family gatherings to the gas station down the street;  the real ones always homemade and never from a factory.  They’re a Maine state tradition.

Unfortunately, it seems Pennsylvania claims they invented the Whoopie Pie as well so now there’s a battle going on between the two states.  Yet Maine is finally ready to stake it’s claim on this delicious treat and make it the official state dessert.  I have a few generations of family behind me ready to prove those folks from PA wrong and I’m pretty sure if you stopped a random Mainer on the street, they’d say the same thing.  And you don’t want to mess with Mainers and their traditions.  Especially when it comes to chocolatey-creamy-goodness like the Whoopie Pie.

Image courtesy of Martha Stewart*

What’s next?  Are you going to try and take our lobster, too, PA?

Sorry…where was I?  Right.  My Whoopie Pies.  BBQ Inferno.  Saturday.

I started out early since I had never actually made them before and I wasn’t sure consuming copious amounts of them in my childhood meant I’d be any good at making them.  An hour or so later, I had 32 perfect little chocolate discs and a creamy filling the best one has tasted this side of the Mississippi.  So in other words, that’s all I needed because they came out PERFECT!  Straight out of my childhood.

Of course, my camera was out of batteries and I didn’t have my phone on me, so there’s no actual evidence of said perfection, so you’ll have to just take my word for it.  They were perfect.

I brought my cake stand along with me and piled them high exactly like this:

Picture courtesy of Just a Taste*

I put candles in two, one for each of the birthday girls and the few that ate them (men mostly), seemed to love them.

Sadly, I felt like the work and love I put into them went unnoticed.  But it didn’t matter.  For me, in the middle of my hell on Saturday, they gave me a few moments of heaven.  Maybe that’s why I made them after all.  They provided me a little comfort going into that awful situation; a little piece of me and my family to act as an armor for my fear.

I’m failing you though, Jjraffe, and I’m not including my recipe.  Because if I did, I’d have to kill you.  And you’re just too sweet not to have around here.

But maybe, if ya’ll are lucky, I’ll make some for you someday.  Maybe you’ll find a little piece of comfort in my tradition, too.

* Just a note: none of the recipes attached to these photos are the traditional recipe, which is why they’re not linked.

12 Responses to “Making Whoopie.”

  1. mommyodyssey April 5, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    dude you suck! I saw this post, I said to myself – yay! She’s posting the recipe! I wanted to ask her for that!
    And then you didn’t. You’re a food tease, you know that? 😦

  2. Elphaba April 5, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    Oh man, that looks SO good right now. And you have to share the recipe because food is about love and sharing and I’m going to guilt you into it now. 🙂

  3. Hope April 5, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    Those Whoopie Pies look and sound decadent. Someday, when I’m not TTC and can go off my PCOS, Lo-GI diet for an afternoon, I’ll have to come see you (or someone from Maine) and try one. Mmmm.

  4. Amanda April 5, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    I’ve seen these on The Food Network before, but never in real life. Probably better, since I would eat 10 of them I’m sure!

    • bodegabliss April 5, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      I think Bobby Flay even had a throwdown with them. But I think I looked at his recipe, and it’s not authentic.

      And seriously, I ate two but could’ve had eaten all of them!

  5. jjiraffe April 5, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    Oh. My. God. Those look like heaven on a plate!!!! I know the recipe is a secret, but I’m going to invite you for my birthdays so I can try one (or, 100!)

  6. some dude April 5, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Wanna Make Whoopie??

    • bodegabliss April 5, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

      I’m sorry, sir, but I am a married woman!

      (hehehehe.)

  7. Marie April 5, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    We totally sell Whoopie Pies at my work. But the ones we have are gross.

  8. starfishkittydreams April 7, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    I love whoopie pies! My favorite one are at the Lobster Shack in Cape Elizabeth, Maine! I am totally on board with Maine getting the credit for these. I made some recently with a mix from Stonewall Kitchen and they were delicious. Trader Joe’s also makes some pretty good ones when I really needing a fix.

  9. veprecose April 16, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    WHOA. Where have these been all my life?! (Excusemei’mCanadian).

Leave a Reply

