A second six-oh.

31 Mar

It’s was my dad’s turn first, but today is my mom’s 60th birthday!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MOM!

Growing up, I wasn’t always easy on my mom.  I was a moody teenager.  I would wake up cranky every single day* and take it out on my mom.  I don’t know why she put up with me.

But as soon I grew out of that (hormonal) stage and she no longer had to be around me in the mornings on a daily basis, we became very close.  I know I can tell her anything and she’ll listen.  Maybe even laugh.  Sometimes even cry.  Okay, often times even cry.  She’s always been there for me – for both of us – whenever we’ve needed it.  She will drop everything for her daughters and have always made sure we knew how much she loves us.  Thank you for this, Mom.

She rocked the seventies

She’s a strong woman.  I think both my sister and I get our strength from her. She’s put up with a lot in her life, and still puts everyone before her.

I also happen to think she’s the most beautiful woman in the world.

Pregnant with my sister

I know this year has been really hard on her being so far away from me.  The last time I was pregnant, I didn’t tell either of my parents because I was going to see them at 10 weeks in person and wanted to tell them to their faces that I finally had a pregnancy that was working.  But two days before I got on the plane, my D&C was scheduled.  Instead, I had to break her heart.  I hate breaking her heart.

But when my own heart was breaking, there was no where else I would have rather been than next to her.  Sometimes moms are the only ones that can make things better…even when you’re 31.

Winter 2009 & proof I am in fact her daughter

Mom…I love you so much.

Thank you for all the love and support you have given M and me throughout these years.  We couldn’t be luckier to have a mother like you.

Happy Birthday.

Love,

Court.

* Some things you apparently don’t grow out of.  Now poor Tim has to put up with Morning Cranky-Head.  How he does it, I’ll never know.

9 Responses to “A second six-oh.”

  1. mommyodyssey March 31, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Beautifully said. And jeez – you guys look alike! Happy Birthday Court’s mom!!

    • bodegabliss March 31, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

      I know, right? I used to think I didn’t look like either of my parents (but for the record: EXACTLY like my sister) until I saw this picture. There’s no denying it!

  2. L March 31, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    Thank you Court, what a beautiful tribute!!! I love you guys more than anything (except your Dad) and am blessed with a beautiful family.( yes you were a cranky little girl every morning!!!) but I just loved you more.
    Thanks again and I am counting the days til I can wrap my arms around you and just hug you tight!!! Love you!!
    Mom

    • bodegabliss March 31, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      Apparently (I get my love of) parentheses (from my) Mom.

      Ha!

      (Love you, Mom!)

  3. Amanda March 31, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Lol, that was a cute comment 🙂

    Beautiful post!

  4. Sio March 31, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Happy Birthday L—-! Gorgeous photos of you 🙂 I love that my mom (also L—-) also just turned 60. She is calling it the Year of the L—-. I think we will just make that the Year of the L—-s!

    • bodegabliss March 31, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

      Yay! I love it! (When are our moms going to meet? It’s so mean to keep future BFF’s apart like this.)

  5. jjiraffe April 1, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    Now we know where your beauty comes from 🙂 Happy Birthday, Bodega’s Mom!

  6. Elphaba April 1, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Wow! You look so much alike. Beautiful post and it sounds like you have a wonderful mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

