It’s all the moon’s fault.

22 Mar

Can I just say, I sure hope these two ladies are the start of a trend around here and it starts spreading to all of us.  I just told Tim that another one of is pregnant (I almost wrote “fell” pregnant, why do people say that?  That’s the oddest thing.  Wait, do people say this, or do I just say that?), and the farmer that he is just said that it’s because of the full moon.  When I responded by saying, “But there’s a full moon every month,” he clarified by saying that it’s the closest the full moon has been in a long long long time.  I know, that was a really scientific answer…but still!  Maybe there really is a trend that’s starting!  Can we just imagine for a moment what that would be like if all, what, 179+ of us bloggers all “fell” pregnant at the same time?  Even those of us not actively or even inactively trying (ahem)?  As much as I want that to be the reality, I think that would be a whole lot of hormone to deal with and I’m not sure the world is ready for that.  Plus, I think those of you that are getting pregnant, you need some of us to help you through it.  But, it sure is fun to dream.

I have to say, I honestly couldn’t be happier for them and for everyone that’s going to follow in their footsteps.  I’d be lying to say there weren’t brief pangs of sadness initially, but then I remembered who these women were.  They weren’t the random people who accidentally got pregnant while still breastfeeding their last baby that we so love to hate…they’re one of us. And I can’t take that as anything but hope.

But let’s talk about something else besides reproducing for a moment, shall we?  How about dance parties for a subject, eh?  Okay, lets.

Saturday night Tim and I really wanted to do something fun with K (for those of you new here, K is my 7-year-old step-daughter).  We had thought about going bowling, but decided we’d rather not spend the money and that we should come up with something to do at home.  Game night gets old after a while, and man, if I have to sit through another G-rated movie, I might poke my eyes out.  So Tim came up with a brilliant idea to have a dance party!  I stepped it up and decided I’d make some cupcakes to make it that much more festive.  We didn’t tell K our plan, but she knew I was up to something in the kitchen, so we told her she just had to wait until after dinner and after she did her reading for the day,* then we promised she’d be given a very fun surprise.

While they were reading I created a dance mix that would last us well over an hour.  When she was done reading, we told her she had to go get dressed up, we were going to a party…but that she couldn’t come out of her room until we came and got her.  Tim got out a bunch of candles and I made us some Manhattan’s and K a Shirley Temple, and we changed into our party clothes.  We started the music, grabbed all three drinks, and opened her door to welcome her to C—–‘s Family Dance Party.

She jumped right in, no warm up needed.  And we had a blast.  I even showed Tim and K classic moves like the Shopping Cart and the Sprinkler.  Yeah, I’ve got moves.  The only thing we were missing was the Catepillar (I’m looking at you, S).   We even had an air band in sunglasses to All Night Long, with me on the drums, and K and Tim on dualing guitars.  Guys, I’m pretty sure we were as good as AC/DC, if not better.  We seriously rocked, and it was definitely the highlight of the evening.   We continued to dance, eat cupcakes and drink our festive drinks until the music ended and our bodies were tired.  K even decided we should do this every 3 months.  And I think we just might.

What’s that?  You want pictures?  Well, they may be blurry and dark, but let me not disappoint:


Not sure what I’m doing here, but it looks HOT.

Mmmm.  Maker’s Manhattan.

And this is what I was wearing…please pardon the dreadful lighting by my mirror in my bedroom.  I swear I’m not a crackhead.  And if you could see what that skirt looks like, you would swoon.  It’s lace!  And, it impressed a 7-year-old with it’s twirl-ability!  What more could you want in a skirt?  Oh I know!  I got it for 12 dollars at a consignment shop.  BEST SKIRT EVER.  Perfect for dance parties in your living room.

I think we’ll make it a tradition.  You should, too.

—-

*She has a mandatory 25 minutes of reading she has to do every day per her teacher’s order.  She’s in 2nd grade and attends a Spanish-speaking school.  She reads 25 minutes in Spanish!

 

14 Responses to “It’s all the moon’s fault.”

  1. Flowergirl March 22, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    That’s a really lovely thing to do, and I might suggest it to friends as a great way to entertain children!

    As for the super moon, I hope that wasn’t my only chance to conceive as I didn’t, and the next one isn’t for 12 years or something!!!!

    • bodegabliss March 22, 2011 at 9:05 am #

      Well crap, I didn’t look at it like that! I didn’t conceive, either!

  2. Marie March 22, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    I love it. I’ve been meaning to dance in my living room for, like, ever, but can’t bring myself to do it.

    Also, thanks for the solidarity (I don’t know if you saw I was begging you for it in a comment on Mo’s blogosphere preg announcement post), and thanks for the shout-out. Doug & I do have a tendency to “celebrate” hearing about friends’ pregnancies by “forgetting” to use a condom that night, so it could happen…

    I don’t use “fell pregnant” except ironically. I don’t think we, here, “fall pregnant.” It’s the teenagers and the drunken one-night-standers and the morning-after-pill-is-only-75%-effectivers that do.

    No seriously. I LOVE the dance party.

    • bodegabliss March 22, 2011 at 9:07 am #

      Haha. See! That’s why I included you in that! 🙂 I’m sorry I didn’t see that comment. I would’ve been there for you if I had!

      I think you should do the dance party. Getting dressed up and making a specific mix really helps.

      • Marie March 22, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

        I know! (Don’t tell my dad.) Do you think we should “forget” again for AP, or does the one time cover both her and Elphie?!

        I think you should send me an at-home-dance-party CD. I can handle dressing up all by myself, but I LOVE being let in on other people’s music 🙂

  3. Esperanza March 22, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    Well you seem to be taking the announcements well! I know they can be hard, even when it is a dear friend who’s “falling” pregnant (people do say that by the way – don’t you love the accidental quality to it, the one we don’t get at all?) I also love your dance party idea! So fun! I’m not a big dancer but my daughter loves it when I dance with her (or for her) so I guess I better start getting into it.

    Can’t wait to see you Sunday!

    • bodegabliss March 22, 2011 at 9:09 am #

      It has to be the most ridiculous statement ever. “Falling pregnant.” HA! And I think it helped that K loves dancing. She didn’t even know what we were going to do, and we looked into her room when she didn’t know, and she was totally dancing in there by herself in her dress. So fun!

      Yay Sunday!!

  4. Kate March 22, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    Interesting theory about the moon. Maybe that’s why I got my period. All hail the moon!

  5. Hope March 22, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I know the moon affects me, but honestly, I don’t pay much attention to it now that I live in the big city. I used to notice every full moon, but that was when the horizon wasn’t obscured by buildings . . .

    I actually really like the term “fell pregnant”. I think it’s British or something. But then, I fall pregnant far too easily. I just can’t stay pregnant. So we have to actively avoid it in order to increase our chances of it working when we do try. (If the logic in that sentence sounds twisted, it’s because it is. I’m still trying to figure out how avoiding what I want helps me get it, go figure!)

    And I love that you had a dance party at home. It sounds like so much fun!

  6. grace March 22, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    love, love, love your blog. it’s seriously my new fave 🙂
    the dance party idea is great and hilarious! we’re going to have to do something like that the next time we’re babysitting my nieces and nephews.
    i’m really excited about this supermoon. i ovulated right on target with it and last weekend was also the vernal equinox. yay spring! now, ovaries and uteie, you better cooperate…

    • bodegabliss March 22, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

      Aw, thanks, Grace! 🙂

      I’m rooting for your ovaries and uteie! Maybe you should make sure they know about the full moon that just passed. You know, just in case. You just go ahead and tell them right now. No one will look at you weird. I promise.

  7. Kate Bentley March 22, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Ok. Sigh. Maybe it’s because I’m a Londoner…but I say it – fall pregnant. To get with child either sounds like an immaculate conception – which has to have it’s appeal – or a disease…but then I do say oopsadaisy as well, so don’t hold the front page…

    Thanks for stopping by and a big, happy dance and ICLW!

    XXXXXXXXX

  8. Lavonne @ *Our Wish* March 22, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Here’s to hoping all of those that want it and deserve it “fall” pregnant very soon! Happy ICLW!

  9. jjiraffe March 23, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    This looks epic! Love the Manhattan and your cool dance gear.

    Hmmm….the moon. Inneresting.

    Cream soda meet-up, for sure. Maybe we can meet in Mill Valley (is that pretty close?) or Petaluma? April 2/3 or 8/9 could work…

Leave a Reply

