I’ve never been lucky, anyway.

17 Mar

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Unfortunately, I’m no longer Irish.  No, I didn’t give it up for lent (I’m also not Catholic), but I did spend most of my life thinking I was Irish until that got taken away from me last year (I’m looking at you, Mom and Dad!).  My parents decided around Christmas time to research our family tree and as a result, we found out we were French (more recently, French Canadian!  Ladies, I’m one of you!) on one side and English on the other (shocker) .  Um, so, not at all Irish.  Oops!  At least I got away with claiming it having been a fair skinned and red-cheeked my whole life and having a sister with red hair.   But I am kind of sad that this year I can’t claim that I’m Irish.  At least I can still drink a Guinness.  You can’t take that away from me!

I thought I would share with you some of the pictures from our trip to Yosemite.  I was going to make a little movie for you to watch but the motivation I had for that earlier went somewhere and I can’t find it any more.  Let me know if you find it out there somewhere.

So let the photos begin!

The central valley of California is made up of mostly fruit and nut trees.  Right now they’re almost all in bloom and it’s gorgeous.  We were in a moving car, so this is the best shot I got of them.  But they’re beautiful.

Tim drove so I had ample time to take pictures of myself.  Good times.

Once we got into the park, we headed straight to the slopes so Tim could snowboard.  But on the way we stopped to see this.  It’s so ugly.  I couldn’t understand why everyone was stopping to look.  Blech.

Then we drove up to see the snow.  Yay snow!  I was so excited to see it (I know so many of you are rolling your eyes at me right now…but I’ve had my fair share of snow in my life having grown up in Maine.  And now that I don’t live where it snows, all I want is snow.  THE GRASS IS ALWAYS GREENER.  Unless it’s covered with snow.)  Tim was the lucky one who got to go snowboarding (you can’t leave your dog unattended inside the park)…but I had a lovely time walking around and sitting on the side of the slopes repeatedly giving people permission to pet my dog.

This guy right here might have been the only one happier to see snow.  Only he doesn’t look it right here.  But that’s because he’s not in the snow and some jerk put him in the car.

This was what the jerk was looking at.

On the way back down the mountain, we happen to catch this.  Another terrible eye sore.

We got to our hotel and this was the view from our balcony (also, this is the anxiety-inducing river I mentioned yesterday).

In the morning it was still there and hadn’t consumed our hotel.  This is apparently my happy face (and bed-hair).

Then we explored the park some and stopped to see this.

Can you believe how dreadful Yosemite is?  I would never recommend going.

See how unhappy we were?

Fortunately, when it was time to go home the next day, the sun had gone away so it made it a little easier to tear ourselves away from our balcony.

I really didn’t want to leave.  I have such a hard time coming back to reality.  I wonder if there will ever be a point where my reality is so blissful, I don’t ever want to escape it.  I truly hope so.

If you can swing it, you should check out Yosemite.  You know, if beautiful nature is your thing.

Now go kiss someone Irish.  Or French Canadian…either one.

16 Responses to “I’ve never been lucky, anyway.”

  1. Esperanza March 17, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    What a beautiful trip! I haven’t been to Yosemite in ages. It’s definitely time to head that way again.

    That first picture you took is gorgeous. It looks like you messed around with it in Photoshop or something. It’s haunting.

    Thanks for sharing these! And Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

    My maternal grandmother was named Myrtle Sullins so I’m pretty sure I’m part Irish. 😉

  2. Elphaba March 17, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    Awesome photos!

    I so want our dogs to meet–I have a feeling they would get a long very well.

    • bodegabliss March 17, 2011 at 11:43 am #

      Took might be a little jealous your dog actually gets to live in the snow part of the year, though. He was so cute in the snow, bouncing around and pawing at it. I used to love when I lived back east and we’d go out after a new snow and he’s go crazy. So fun.

      • Elphaba March 18, 2011 at 7:30 am #

        Oh yes, mine LOVES the snow. She will just go outside and curl up in it and nap in -30 degree weather and yes, she also loves bouncing in it too.

  3. Sio March 17, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Great pics! It made me want to go back to Yosemite. That would be fun to go together sometime! When we went we camped and I was so afraid of bears, I barely slept a wink. The park rangers scare you bears and show you all these bear mauling pictures. Anyway, what a great trip!

    • bodegabliss March 17, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      That’s so funny…we went fo a hike and at the beginning of the trail, there was a picture of a bear INSIDE of someone’s car. Just hanging out. Except the mirror and window frame was all mauled. And then there was this huge warning that was quite frightening. So yep, I can imagine you had a hard time sleeping! Maybe we can all stay at the hotel. There’s just a river we have to panic about. 😉

  4. Hope March 17, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    Beautiful pictures! You really captured your trip. 🙂 I love Yosemite, but going up there isn’t in the plans for us any time soon. It’s fun to get to enjoy it vicariously through you. 😉

  5. Marie March 17, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    When I first met Doug, he told me he was Irish. Like, actually born in Ireland. That turned out to be one of his big lies. He was born in San Diego, and his heritage is Scottish. Oh well. I’m also French Canadian.

    I try living my life as though I’m on vacation. I mean, you still have to go to work and stuff, but if you can get in those little moments of nature or relaxation: going for a walk, drinking tea on your porch/patio, checking out a local tourist attraction, reading in the bath with wine and/or candles… it can work pretty well. It usually works better for me in the summer, when the whole thing is canvased with sunlight.

    Thanks for the pictures. Your dog is almost as beautiful as you are!

  6. mommyodyssey March 17, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    Gorgeous! The view, the dog, the hubby, and you! (even with bedhead)

  7. starfishkittydreams March 17, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Gorgeous! It is nice to see you out having fun. What a great weekend! We haven’t been there a few years. I think we may have even stayed at that same hotel as I recall the balcony with the river running right below. It was just outside the park gates.

  8. Christina March 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Beautiful! And I’m not just talking about the scenery :).

    I think I’m going to have to make it out West one day and visit some of those gorgeous places!

  9. jjiraffe March 18, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    I love Yosemite. Looks like an awesome time. You look gorgeous. Don’t forget that on March 17th, EVERYONE is Irish 😉

  10. Christie March 18, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    I have started reading your blog, and I want you to know that I think you are just absolutely adorable! I wish nothing but happiness for you!

    • bodegabliss March 18, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

      Aw, shucks. Thanks, Christie! That’s so nice!

  11. AnnaEsperanza March 18, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    Sorry you had such a rotten time! 😉

    But seriously, your photos are fabulous!

  12. Linda March 20, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Wonderful pictures!!! So nice to see you smile and I can hear your laugh in your pictures!! Sure hope we get the chance to see Yoseimite in person—-espically that waterfall, how beautiful. Good to see Took, he looked so happy. And Tim too!!

Leave a Reply

