Of course.

8 Mar

Guess what was in one of those 576 posts?  A blogger I’ve read for years and years declaring her 3rd pregnancy.  Oh!  And!  She wasn’t even trying.

Welcome back, Courtney!

Do you guys in the pregnancy loss and infertility community subscribe to blogs of pregnant women and new moms?  Does it give you encouragement, or complete and utter devastation?  Does it constantly remind you of what you don’t have, or does it inspire you to keep trying?

I just deleted a few blogs that I’ve been reading for a while because I can’t keep reading about their pregnancies and babies*.  I don’t want to unsubscribe to this particular blog, but I’m not sure I can handle it.

What do you guys do?

*This doesn’t apply to those of you that are in this community or have suffered a loss and are now pregnant or have children and blog about them.  For you, I am elated.  You continue to give me hope because I know you know what it feels like.  Just didn’t want you to think I was talking about you.  I’m still reading!

[Update 3/10: today I found out the above blogger is having twins.  I’m happy for her, in the sincerest way possible, I really am — but damn it makes it sting even more.]

8 Responses to “Of course.”

  1. Esperanza March 8, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    When I was TTC after my ectopic I couldn’t really handle pregnancy and kid blogs. I had a really hard time. I would say do what you need to do. I think I made a document where I pasted the links of all the ones I wanted to check up on every once in a while but couldn’t handle on a daily basis. Maybe that would help? Then you won’t forget about them entirely but you only have to deal with them when you’re ready for it (if there ever is a time like that).

    I’m so sorry you’re having such a hard time. Having experienced only one loss, I know for a fact that I’d be a total wreck if I had experienced three. You are in my heart and in my thoughts.

    • mommyodyssey March 8, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      what she said. 🙂

    • bodegabliss March 8, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      That’s a great idea. It makes me feel like I’m not totally letting go of them. This particular blogger I really enjoy reading, I just don’t think I can bear hearing about her pregnancy at this point. Ugh.

      Thank you for your kind words. I’ve really appreciated all of them.

  2. Emilie March 8, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Sorry this is totally unrelated to this post, but here is your t-shirt! http://www.beermemaine.com/store.html

    I wear about a size 6 or M, and the t-shirt I have on in the photo is a large and it’s pretty tight on me. i would have gotten the next size up, so they run pretty small. enjoy! –Emilie

  3. slcurwin March 9, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    I keep subscribed, but to be honest I usually just look at the first line and then delete. that way I know that everything is ok. Most of the time lately I dont have the umph to read them, but occationally i’m in good enough spirits to do so and be rightly happy for them.

  4. AnnaEsperanza March 9, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Some blogs I can deal with; others I just can’t. I take it on a case-by-case basis.

    My mommy-blog-reading is probably down by about 90% from the days when I was still all wide-eyed and optimistic about getting pregnant.

  5. Starfishkitty March 12, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    I’ve crossed over so I really can’t read those anymore. It’s too hard.

Leave a Reply

