I gave birth in a lobby.

18 Feb

Last night I had a dream that I can’t get out of my head, so now you get to hear about it.  Up until today, I had never dreamt of my baby.  I have been pregnant in my dreams, but never anything worth noting, and they have never ended in birth.  Early this morning, I dreamt I gave birth (in a lobby no less) to the most perfect 6-lb-something little baby.  The birth was so easy and quick, at one point I realized I should ask the doctor if I tore (ha!).  I remember thinking it didn’t feel like I did and saying to myself: Wow!  I must be lucky!  But the best part of the dream – the part that keeps coming to mind – was the moment I breast fed for the first time.  My chest was bare and the little one was still naked, and I could feel the light weight of his/her body in my arms (I was also sitting in a wheelchair for some reason, but whatever).  The baby immediately latched on and I felt…complete.  For the next few minutes I just kept looking down at this little baby, beaming with joy.

I was then abruptly woken by a critter in our walls* rearranging it’s furniture (who I’d now like to kill for waking me up from this dream) and I tried to fall back asleep to it, but I wasn’t able to.  It just felt so real.  That little baby was mine…happiness in a dream has never been so palpable.**

*We live in a late-1800’s converted barn, critters are part of the territory.

**Honestly, I don’t know if it’s the no-tearing that makes me happier, or the baby!

2 Responses to “I gave birth in a lobby.”

  1. mommyodyssey February 19, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    Methinks this is a good sign. 🙂

  2. slcurwin February 19, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    That is a nice dream

Leave a Reply

