Posts from the Past: #2

9 Feb

Okay, let’s take another break from the seriousness with another installment of Posts From the Past.   Since the hubby and I are going on a date tonight, I figured it would be a good reason to revisit another date from the life of Single Courtney (to remind me how good I have it now).  So a little back story: when I lived in Rhode Island I worked at Brown University in the BioMed department.  I only went out on 2 dates with students while I was there: one being a just-graduated medical student and this guy below, who was a grad student at the time, but both were younger than me.  I justified the age by the fact they at least weren’t undergraduates.  (And now that I mention this other guy, I wish I could tell you about that date, because that seriously might top the other one now that I’m remembering it.  But unfortunately, it’s not Parent-Rated and I’m not quite sure I can post it here.  You’ll just have to take my word for it: it’s a date gone terribly terribly – and painfully – wrong.  Aren’t you glad I brought it up since I’m never planning on telling you?  I’m so nice!)  Anyway, back to the story.  I can’t remember how I met this kid or even why I was attracted to him.  Probably because he seemed more like a RISD guy than a Brown one and that made him intriguing to me.   I had picked him up for a daytime date one Sunday in April and we had decided to drive to a beach that was only about 10 minutes away.  This story below is the one and only time we went out, and it made for an awesomely awkward moment every time we ran into each other on campus.  I’m even including a comment in this one from my friend T, because she’s hilarious and it reminds me so much of her.  Okay, here it goes.  Short and not-so-sweet: Dating Story # 2.

(In an effort to help remind myself how I got here and what helped make me who I am today, I’m revisiting some posts from my past.  This was originally posted in 2005.  You can read the intro to this series here and Post #1 here.)

Sunday, a day of love for yours truly. Or not.

Okay, so this is what happened. After approximately 15 minutes at the windy, cold beach, he offered me a choice. “Do you want to stick around a while longer, or head back?” I said I could do either, and asked his preference. He said he’d like to go back, as he had some stuff he could get done. Hmm..where was this stuff when I invited him to come with me? After the weird silence moments before, I figured the stuff must have miraculously appeared. On the way home, he seemed to be overly annoyed with Took’s pacing, which in turn annoyed me. Before we made it to the house, I recognized the signs immediately. Hell, I’ve perfected the signs. The cd came out of the player blocks before the house, he held his camera and jacket in one hand, and the other hand was grabbing the bag. If he had had another free, he would’ve had it on the door handle, ready to jump out before I had even stopped. He said goodbye with no eye contact as he had one foot out the door.

So my only conclusions are these: he must have either (a) really had to go to the bathroom after he ate his sandwich, (b) remembered he left the coffee maker on, (c) this “stuff” he spoke about included solving the AIDS crisis and ridding the world of hatred and crime and he came up with the solution at the beach, or (d) he was intimidated by my beauty and could no longer handle being in the presence of such perfection.

I’ll leave it up to you, reader, to decide which one the correct answer is…but I’m banking on (d).

1 comments:

boys suck ass anyway. f him. he was only 23 and still in diapers anyway. i told you to get rid of him.love
* t 

3 Responses to “Posts from the Past: #2”

  1. mommyodyssey February 9, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    I second the vote for d! My hubby is two years younger than me, but since I met him when I was 28 and he was 26 I don’t think it counts (once you’re past 25, I think the difference is less palpable. Plus, Israeli men tend to hit maturity automatically at age 24 for some reason, if they don’t, they stay children forever. It’s a (almost!) scientific fact!). On the other hand, when i was 24 and living in Philly, I dated a guy that was 22. I felt like I was his baby sitter. However, I had a complete obsession with his Pecks so I made him my boy toy for a couple of months until I couldn’t take it any more. Needless to say, during those two months I did NOT take him out in public. That stopped after our first date when I suggested sushi, he said ok, and then ordered stir fried noodles and looked at me weird for eating raw fish.
    I had a point here, I swear! And that is – just thank the great spaghetti monster that you guys went to the beach and not a restaurant.

  2. Elphaba February 9, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    It has to be d. There is no other explanation.

Leave a Reply

