Fun with pictures

3 Feb

About a month ago I got one of them faaaancy phones. A big part of me was holding out for as long as I could because I knew it would become addicting to be connected all the time. But mostly I held out because of my recently developed phobia of 2011. I find myself longing for the days of the 80’s when we played with Nintendo 64, answered chain letters by mail and made mixed tapes for our current crush. I’m scared of the future and raising children in it surrounded by all this media. It’s overwhelming at times. With that being said, you need to know I’m a huge hypocrite because I actually love technology and become a super geek every time I get to play with something new. So of course…I love my new phone. And although I can safely say I’m not yet addicted, I sure am enjoying playing with it.

Which brings me to the Vignette camera feature. I think it’s Android’s answer to the Hipstamatic – but really, I think it might be better. (But that’s just because I’m set on dissing the iPhone because it’s considered so cool, even though I’m a Mac girl.) I’ve been having fun the last couple of days with Vignette, so I thought I’d share a selection of the photos from it for fun (Non-seriousness twice this week! Look at me go!).

I think there’s a chance these kinds of pictures are heading towards being overdone at this point online, but I’m okay with that. And can we just admire for a second what the summer light filter on the camera made my hair look like? I would give anything for it to be that beautiful in real life. I put that in there just because of that. I look so serious and obviously squinting from the sun… BUT THE HAIR! LOOK AT THE HAIR! And extra credit to anyone who can guess where that church is from in that last picture (those from around here are exempt!).

14 Responses to “Fun with pictures”

  1. mommyodyssey February 4, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    OMG these are gorgeous! And yes, the hair is fabulous!

    • Hope February 4, 2011 at 8:29 am #

      The pics *are* beautiful, as is the hair. Apps must be so much fun. πŸ™‚

      I share your concerns about children growing up surrounded by media (and adults getting addicted to these “toys”). I’m still holding out on getting a smart phone. But the apps do sound like lots of fun. πŸ˜‰

  2. bodegabliss February 4, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Mommy Odyssey: I totally thought you’d figure out the picture of the church considering you’re a film girl!

    Hope: I held out for a long time…and there’s a part of me that misses my little flip phone that could only call and text. But I’m going to fight my hardest to keep my step-daughter from getting a phone for as long as possible. She’s 7 and already wants one! Unfortunately, I have to compete with her mom on that one. It’s just scary.

    • mommyodyssey February 4, 2011 at 8:42 am #

      It does look hella-familiar but I just can’t place it… give me a while, it’ll come to me πŸ˜‰

      • bodegabliss February 4, 2011 at 8:43 am #

        hehe. Okay! Let me know if you need a hint. πŸ˜‰

  3. Marie February 4, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    I’m still holding out. I like my phones to be not-too-smart, and I like not paying for the data plan that comes with a smart phone.

    But since you mention you’re a mac girl (as am I), and I’m in the market for a new laptop, do you have any opinions on MacBook vs Air (or something else entirely)?

    • bodegabliss February 4, 2011 at 8:54 am #

      Oh, that’s right, you dropped yours! Shoot! I’d be so sad! My MacBook is still a 2005 version that may be on it’s last leg, but it’s hanging in there. I wonder about the MacBook Air…I feel like I’d want something more substantial. I’m nervous when I hold my Kindle or someone’s iPad, I don’t know, they just don’t feel like they’re as sturdy, you know? I feel like unless you’re traveling on a day-to-day basis, I would think the normal laptop would be the way to go. I also have an iMac both at home and at work, and freaking LOVE them. They’re so beautiful. The one at home was a wedding gift and it’s enormous. I feel so luxurious turning it on! Like I’m not worthy (“We’re not worthy! We’re not worthy!”) or something. The MacBook Pros are also beautiful. I think if you can swing that, that’s probably your best choice. But man it’s hard shelling out that kind of money! The other people in the office have those and they’re amazing. So I’m not sure I helped! πŸ™‚

      • mommyodyssey February 4, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

        I can chime in as a fellow mac-o-holic! πŸ™‚
        it actually really does depend on what you need it for. MacBook pro is amazing but if you mostly use yours to surf the web and do word processing, than it’s just not worth the extra bucks. My macbook -2Ghz with an intel core 2 Duo and 2 gigs of ram – (aluminum) is one of the more basic models – and I use it even to edit and it handles it pretty well – even if there are higher end models. My only beef with it is that it doesn’t have a firewire port (which I like for editing) but for most people it doesn’t really matter. If you want to email me and tell me what exactly you use it for then I’m sure I can help you on that. πŸ™‚
        PS – yes! I want a hint! I’m hopped up on advil!

      • bodegabliss February 4, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

        Oh! Good comments. Love that you guys are fellow Mac-gals! And yes, I should have pointed out that I also do a lot of design work and my old MacBook just doesn’t cut it. I even had to take the software off so that I could use a web browser without it slowing down on me. I realize the new ones are better than my ol’ 2005 version, but yes, if you do that kind of work, I would go with the Pro as well.

        Okay, here’s a hint that will surely make you guess it: I used the “scary movie” filter.

  4. Elphaba February 4, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Oh you are so cute! (and it’s not just the light)

  5. mommyodyssey February 4, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Ok I know for sure that it’s from a hitchcock flick. The Birds – I think. Right?

    • bodegabliss February 4, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

      Yes! I knew that would give it away. You win! What I don’t know…but something. MORE CHOCOLATE FOR YOU!

      The church and schoolhouse from the movie are in my town, and my pup and I walk by it every day. Actually, you can even see my house for a second in it as well. It’s fun. It’s such a small little town, but we get tons of tourists because of it.

      • bodegabliss February 4, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

        Oh! And it’s not really on the ocean like the movie makes it out to be. The ocean and my town are actually 8 miles or so apart! Sneaky Hitchcock.

  6. jjiraffe February 4, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Looove the photos! I know that church…it’s gorgeous. Also, spooky, because of The Birds. Also, you’re super pretty! In that photo, you look just like Vera Farmiga πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

