CFC: Day 3 (where I dream of cheese)

9 Dec

Day 3, you weren’t my friend.

After a bad night of sleep Tuesday night, I have to admit I struggled yesterday.  My stomach was upset all day for some reason, I was dreading a Spanish test I wasn’t ready for and I just wanted to hide from the world.  The drizzly, cold rain didn’t help, either.  And, of course, the lady in Spanish class brought homemade caramelized popcorn to share with everyone.  She also wasn’t my friend.  On top of all the frustrations of the day, I walk to my car after class to find a parking ticket.  Parking cop, you certainly weren’t my friend!

Despite being disappointed in my day yesterday, a huge part of cleansing for me is to remind myself to not use food to comfort me when I’m feeling down or frustrated.  Although not a huge crutch, I do find myself doing this on occasion and it just never feels good.  On my way home last night, after driving behind someone going 25 mph in a 45 mph zone for 10 miles, I dreamed of an egg sandwich on an english muffin slathered in butter and covered in melty, gooey cheese.  But when I (finally) made it home, I ate a clementine instead.   Although my taste buds weren’t necessarily satisfied, it felt good to take care of my  body despite wanting to do the complete opposite to satisfy my head.

So this is what I ate:

Breakfast – smoothie with kale, banana, raspberries, blueberries, peaches, and unsweetened rice milk; coffee with maple syrup and unsweetened almond milk

Lunch – mushroom miso soup

Snack – vegan/sugar-free granola, clementine

Dinner – salad with mixed greens, sweet potatoes, black beans, quinoa, avocado and homemade dressing with olive oil, vinegar, garlic, mustard and s&p; detox tea

Dinner at my desk before Spanish class (taken with my phone)

4 bottles of water (I think it might have been 5, but I lost count). Plus another clementine when I got home.

I woke up this morning thinking that maybe 5 days will be enough for the cleanse….but now that I’m writing this, I’m feeling pretty good that despite how I was feeling yesterday, I still stuck to it.  So maybe I should be proud of myself and keep trying to do this.  I know it will be more difficult with K (my step-daughter) around this weekend, and with all the baking and candy-making I plan to do for Christmas, but I should at least try and do it the whole 7 days.  And if I don’t, I feel like I can still be proud of doing it for as long as I could.  I think a lot of it has to do with the fact I’m a little bored with my food selection.  As you can see, I’m pretty much eating the same thing every day out of convenience (I made big batches of all the food so that it would last all week since I knew I’d be busy with Spanish), which I tend to do even if I’m not cleansing.  I’m going to try and make something a little different tonight, but we’ll see what I end up doing.  I think I miss cheese the most (see: egg sandwich with gooey, melty cheese).  Mmmmmmm.

Okay, back to my coffee with unsweetened almond milk and maple syrup.  (Sigh)

One Response to “CFC: Day 3 (where I dream of cheese)”

  1. slcurwin December 9, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    If you make the extra time to make something different and get some variety in there you will probably feel way better about continueing on. The food sounds pretty good, but eating the same every day gets old fast.

Leave a Reply

