CFC: Day 2 (I’m Hungry)

8 Dec

Despite the hunger pains as I went to bed, Day 2 went pretty well.  This is what I ate:

Breakfast – Vegan/sugar-free granola with unsweetened almond milk and half a banana; smoothie with banana, blueberries, peaches, kale and unsweetened rice milk; coffee with unsweetened almond milk and maple syrup.

Lunch – Leftover black beans and sweet potatoes with white and red quinoa.

Snack – Raw almonds.

Dinner – Green beans sauteed in toasted sesame oil and tossed with garlic powder, salt and pepper, served over red and white quinoa; miso soup with garlic, mushroom broth and the local mushrooms below (of which I’m spacing the name right now).  *Ed: chanterelles!

I was a little worried about the soup when I started.  I had never bought mushroom broth before and it smelled awful.  Fortunately, with the seasonings and miso it was actually quite delicious.   And those green beans?  Seriously the best ones I’ve ever had.  I could have eaten just a plate of those and been happy.

After dinner I had detox tea and throughout the day I succeeded in drinking the gallon of water.  I’m feeling really proud of my water intake, but I’m giving all the credit to the water bottle.

The best part of the day was my run after work.   I was even looking forward to running on my way home.  This is something I never feel…I usually run because I know I need to workout or for Took to get his energy out, but it’s rarely because I want to.  And once I started running, I felt the best I have yet and continued to feel great throughout the entire run.  I think I could have even run for longer than I did.  Does this mean I’m turning into a runner?  Probably not, but I am proud of myself for getting out there and finding some joy in it.  I’ve always admired runners and the love they have for it, and maybe yesterday I got a glimpse into that?

Today may be more difficult.  I have Spanish class tonight and that means my usual slice of pizza beforehand can’t happen.  Hopefully I won’t be too hungry during class and the nice couple who sit next to me had better not bring cupcakes in again or I might be tempted (those jerks!).

One Response to “CFC: Day 2 (I’m Hungry)”

  1. Starfishkitty December 9, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    You are amazing! I couldn’t last even 1 day!

Leave a Reply

