I can’t sleep.

26 Oct

leaves

I know that it’s fall and we’re not supposed to be seeing pictures of green this time of year, but in Northern California this is the start of the green season.  As excited as I get for the ugly brown of late summer to disappear, I ache for autumn in New England.  I always think summer is the hardest time of the year to be away, but once fall hits, I’m reminded this is the time I wish to be back there the most.  Don’t get me wrong, there’s fall here, too.  The air gets a little crisper and the vines change colors.  I have to start wearing a jacket on our walks in the evening and in the morning I cling to my coffee and bundle up in my warmer scarves.  I’m sure I’ll start to love the subtle fall here…but it’s just not the same.  In Maine you’d finally be feeling relief from the heat, but would be bearing down for what was ahead by reveling in every last second of sun on our bare faces and sweatered bodies before the cold of winter hit.  Fall is the last few moments of comfort before the bitter air and I just feel like it’s appreciated more.

I actually took this picture in July but I hadn’t shared it before and felt like adding a picture to the blog instead of sleeping.  Don’t you think there needs to be more pictures on here?  Brighten the place up a bit?  Tim and I went camping at Blairsden with the pup and had a wonderful time.  We hiked up to a lake that we were suprised was even there (a lot of the lakes dry up in California during the summer) and this was on the way.  It was a beautiful day.

Will you do me a favor?  Will you put on a cozy sweater and go outside for me?  Shuffle through a pile of leaves.  Feel the warm sun and the cooler air.  Go inside to a fire and some tea.  We’ll soon be seeing green, but in the meantime, I’m longing for autumn.

One Response to “I can’t sleep.”

  1. Starfishkitty November 4, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    I grew up in New England and miss it every Autumn.

Leave a Reply

